Welcome to Illinois

Not a religious issue

Posted in Religion (and the lack of it) by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on June 29, 2008

The Wall Street Journal article I mentioned the other day also raises an issue that I should probably get out of the way early; namely: there is no place for religion on this blog (at least not from me).

So much of the literature and so many of the blogs related to Down’s syndrome is/are written from a religious perspective. To me there are a couple of conclusions that can be drawn from this:

1/ That religion and faith play a big part in many people’s decision to continue with a pregnancy after they have discovered that the baby has Down’s syndrome. This is quite probably true, but religion played no part in my decision-making process

2/ That a lot of people draw comfort and strength from their religion in accepting and coping with the issues that arise from bringing up a child with disabilities. Which is all well and good for them, although again it’s not a part of my life at the moment.

While I respect the rights of those with religious faith to express it, I also respect the rights of others not to have the context of religion forced upon them. To me issues such as testing, termination and adoption are not religious, they are ethical.

It is with that in mind that I am declaring Welcome to Illinois a religion-free zone.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rickismon said, on July 7, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    While I am religious (Jewish) I think I can still add something here.
    The biggest “religion” in Western society is “making Money”, and this is why so many people are aborting pregnancies with DS.

  2. […] previously wrote that I see two reasons why a great number of “Down’s syndrome bloggers” are […]

  3. […] even encouraged me to break my self-imposed ban on religious content, given that it raises some of the same questions I did in imposing that […]

  4. […] that you believe such a thing is possible, and I’m just not going to go into that given my declaration of WelcometoIllinois as a religion free […]


Leave a Reply

