Welcome to Illinois

The story so far…

Posted in Personal, This blog by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on September 2, 2008

When I started this blog I decided two things: that it would be written anonymously to protect the identity of my family; and it would be about Down’s syndrome, rather than specifically about my family or my child.

However, immediately I found out that our baby has Down’s syndrome I also started writing down my feelings, in a stream of consciousness, thanks to the need to communicate my feelings despite being thousands of miles away from my family.

I continued to write as the weeks went on and as I did so considered that I would have liked to have read the thoughts of someone else going through the same situation as I was, to feel that we weren’t the only family going through this situation, and it was okay to think some of the thoughts we were thinking.

The result is Waking up in Illinois, which is also accessible via the tab above. It is an honest and personal account of our story so far. I have edited it only to correct spelling and grammatical errors so some of it may not make sense. Hopefully someone will find it helpful.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

