Welcome to Illinois

Off topic: Simply popular

Posted in Media, Off topic, This blog by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on October 18, 2008

Looking at my blog stats I’ve noticed a massive increase in the number of searches for “Simple Jack”, the film within Tropic Thunder that caused such a fuss about Ben Stiller’s satirical portrayal of a Hollywood action star trying to be taken seriously by playing a character with disabilities.

94% of the searches for ‘simple jack’ that have brought people to Welcome to Illinois have occurred in the last 48 hours.

The huge increase in searches has resulted in the initial post I wrote about Simple Jack getting three times as many hits in the last two days than it got in the 68 days since it was published.

So why the sudden interest? It can’t be the Halloween costume connection as Halloween doesn’t crop up in any search terms.

Meanwhile the US DVD release is still over a month away and I can’t see any other reason for the massive increase in interest. I’m really curious – any ideas?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] up for posting every day, and I cheated a bit by publishing excerpts of an article in The Times, a note about my blog stats, and also wrote about Christmas cards, and T-shirt […]

  2. ryan said, on November 9, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Everyone want to see if there is any leaked footage of the Simple Jack movie. Personally, I would kill someone to get more of Simple Jack

  3. Ken said, on December 4, 2008 at 10:05 am

    every sence I watched the tropic thunder movie, I have been obsessed with simple jack. Even though the part in the movie showed footage of simple jack in a small amount of time, I have felt that that part was the highlight of the movie. my friends and I talk about that scene more than any other scene. We agree that a real movie of simple jack would be more humorouse than tropic thunder, which I thought was extremely humorous. What can possibly be done to make simple jack a real movie?


Leave a Reply

