Welcome to Illinois

Top 10 Down’s syndrome T-shirt slogans

Posted in Off topic by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on October 21, 2008

In no particular order. The first two are my own and are a sarcastic response to the patronising comments we’ve already heard from people about children with Down’s syndrome, while I stole the third from here. The rest are all genuine t-shirts that can be purchased from Cafepress.

1. You’d be this happy too if you had an extra chromosome.
2. I’m a very loving child.
3. Does this shirt make me look retarded?
4. I have Down syndrome, what’s your excuse?
5. I have more chromosomes than you.

6. My brother got an extra chromosome and all I got was this t-shirt.
7. Chromosomes. My kid has more than yours.
8. Ha ha. I have an extra chromosome!
9. Welcome to Holland.
10. Got trisomy?

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rickismom said, on October 21, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    When Ricki and I went to the US last year, I had a t-shirt made:
    46/47 of my chromosomes are normal
    (Down syndrome is only part of what I am)

    The favorite tee shirt slogan I have heard (which I WISH would translate into Hebrew…) is:
    “Looking great in my designer genes”

  2. welcometoillinois said, on October 22, 2008 at 5:59 am

    I love “46/47 of my chromosomes are normal”. Good stuff.

  3. EqualRights said, on March 6, 2010 at 2:56 am

    I am appalled with these discriminatiing t-shirts. To make fun of another person because of their mental illness or disability is unethical, unmoral, and extremely hurtful to others with family, friends, or loved ones who have such disorders. This company and anyone who wears these shirts should be ashamed of yourselves. I for one have three close cousins who have down syndrome. They are sweet, kind, and for the most part very independent people. Even though they have this mental illness, they have feelings and emotions just like me and you. They understand what others say and think about them. To make fun of people with this disorder, is like making fun of a individual who was born without their legs, arms, eyes, etc. Was it their fault they were born into this world this way??? No… They had no option.

    Everyone has a right to express themselves… I understand this… 1st amendment….

    But please do so tastfully and respectfully.

    It is pretty sad someone has to profit off another’s disability.

    • Matt at WelcometoIllinois said, on March 7, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      I think you may have missed the point about the T-shirts slightly. They are designed for people with Down’s syndrome and their families to celebrate what make our children who they are. They are designed to make fun of people who find it hard to deal with people with Down’s syndrome without making patronising comments.

      • Angi B said, on May 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm

        My son has Down Syndrome and I am looking for a shirt for HIM. I think that they help make the point that there is nothing wrong about him having DS, he’s just like anyone else.

    • Rita said, on August 28, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      You are missing the point! These t-shirts make fun of people who think down’s syndrome is something sad or shameful. I just finished th 6K annual Buddy Walk for Down’s Syndrome in Colorado Springs and a number of people were wearing these. That’s why I logged onto this website– one little boy had a t-shirt that read: I have one more chromosome than you and I know how to use it. His entire family was wearing the My [son/grandson/buddy/brother] has more chromosomes than yours!

      Celebrate your cousins! I already know they are wonderful, loving people, without even meeting them. The world is a place to celebrate our differences, and these t-shirts do just that!

    • me said, on October 3, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      We all love somebody with DS. This is lighthearted undertanding humor that makes the best of a chromosome abnormality. making the most of it. My son is 14 with DS, and I think theese are funny and some are sweet. I think we should all be so lucky to be born with that extra one.

    • Britt said, on August 20, 2012 at 5:10 pm

      MENTAL ILLNESS!!!! Down syndrome is NOT a mental illness little miss Equal Rights! You should be ashamed of yourself! You should google Mental Illness and see is the Chromosome Disorder called Trisomy 21 comes up!! Down Syndrome is so far from a mental illness. This just shows how you view your three cousins! Mentaly ill. My daughter has trisomy 21 and I find some of these shirts to be whitty and light hearted. I’m probably going to order some for our annual Buddy walk.

    • anonomyous said, on March 15, 2015 at 11:10 pm

      Down syndrome is not a mental illness…get your facts straight. These shirts aren’t for people to bash on down syndrome, these are for people with down syndrome to wear and be proud of who they are.

  4. Mandy said, on March 11, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Nice Matt, I got your back on this one, I’m always looking for shirts like these for me and my kid. Some folks just don’t get it….

  5. Veronica said, on May 14, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I just googled “catchy phrases for Down Syndrome awareness” and came across this page. I am a mother of a beautiful 11 month old little girl that has Trisomy 21. I do not find these shirst offensive at all. Although I don’t know Matt, I agree with him completely. My child has an extra chromosome and that is what make her who she is. She has brought so much joy to our family. I am proud to wear a shirt, that may incourage someone to ask “what does that mean?”. That is a small step in the right direction of bringing awareness about Down Syndrome. We are all different, but equal. My son’s strengths will be different from my daughter’s and my daughter’s strenghs will be different from my son’s strengths.

    I personally don’t like to see it as a “disorder”, my daughter willl achieve the same goals as every other child, only she will do it at a different pace. A goal achieved is a goal achieved!

    • Janet said, on September 1, 2015 at 6:50 pm

      My grandson has DS and I also was looking for a cute shirt to show how much I love him. None of these phrases are offensive.

  6. Marla said, on July 11, 2010 at 4:04 am

    I have a GORGEOUS, BRILLIANT, NORMAL, almost 7 year old little girl with Down Syndrome. I think these t-shirts are the next best things to ice cream!! The fact that anyone could EVER think that these are offensive shows how misinformed they are! These shirts do what they are made to do: 1. they make the child with the inability that they may have, is not making them any different from the next person. 2. they are a warning to someone not wearing it, to basically taste your words before you spit them out! And quite frankly, who’s to say that this fantastic group of individuals are the ones with the “problems”…they don’t know how to deceive, be vindictive, they’re not prejudice, they have no contemptuousness, no narrowmindedness! They’re all of the things that we could only wish to be. So I say THANK YOU with ALL of my heart for making these t-shirts. xoxoxo

  7. Yuliana said, on October 14, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    This website got creative with Down Syndrome T shirts. I bought one for my niece.
    http://www.cafepress.com/cvcdesign

  8. Ginny said, on December 6, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Notice Miss equal rights got very quiet!! LOL 🙂 When we advocate together WE WIN!! As for Miss equal rights she has had a successful day, she learned something…we hope.


Leave a Reply

