Welcome to Illinois

Just a regular baby…

Posted in Genetics, Personal by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on December 19, 2008

…with trisomy 21. I keep forgetting to note that while we are still waiting for G’s karyotype to be sent to us from the Kennedy-Galton Centre our consultant neonatologist did recently get a verbal confirmation of regular trisomy 21, as opposed to translocation or mosaic Down’s syndrome.

Which reminds me that I never did get around to writing that post on the genetics of Down’s syndrome. Stand by for that.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] but also in the hope that it will help me understand/remember it. Thinking about G’s karotype results has spurred me on, so I’m going to bash this out as quick as I […]

  2. […] that G has mosaic Down’s syndrome. Probably just some miscommunication, but given we still haven’t received his karyotype, I thought it was worth a […]

  3. […] only be relevant in my sister’s case if G had Translocation Down’s syndrome, which he doesn’t. But then it sounds like the health care worker concerned is having trouble with the basics, let […]


Leave a Reply

