Welcome to Illinois

Adjusted expectations

Posted in Attitudes to disability, Personal by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on February 12, 2009

I was thinking about the issue of acceptance or patronisation and mascots on the way into work on the tube this morning and have refined my thoughts a little. My point is this:

When we found out G had Down’s syndrome I began adjusting my expectations for him. This was hard to do, and sometimes remains so, but over time I have accepted that my expectations for G are not *lower* than those I have for J, they are just different.

Sometimes when I let my mind wander I imagine J one day being a professional football player, and if I get carried away I maybe daydream about him playing for my team, Southampton, or even for England. (I assume all parents do something similar).

As J grows up and we find out what he is good at and what he is capable of my hopes for him will adjust to fit his capabilities.

When I daydream about G I imagine him one day playing football for a team of people with Down’s syndrome or other learning disabilities, and if I get carried away I maybe daydream about him competing in the Special Olympics or representing his country in a similar event.

Similarly as G grows up and we find out what he is good at and what he is capable of my hopes for him will adjust to fit his capabilities.

What I don’t daydream about for G, however, is that he sits on the sidelines of the school team for years before someone eventually decides to give him a token five minutes in the last game of the season.

If G wants to be part of a team in that way I will of course support him, and if they do give him a token chance – whatever the motivation – I will of course be happy for him and proud of him. But I can’t help wanting so much more for my son. G’s achievements will be limited by Down’s syndrome, but they should be defined by it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rickismom said, on February 18, 2009 at 6:34 am

    In most cases, the boy does not just “sit on the sidelines”. As I understand it, the child with Down s. will be doing some non-playing function (locker room detail), but that gives them the chance to be around the team, and feel to be one of the crowd. But, as I wrote on my blog, I hope that the few minutes of play become more frequent. All, in all, we have to follow, mostly, what the teen wants for themself.


Leave a Reply

