Welcome to Illinois

Good arrows!

Posted in This blog by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on March 10, 2009

I’ve been really busy at work and at home which is why I haven’t posted much here and is also why I only just noticed that this blog has been awarded the Premios Dardos blog award by Libby at Blessings and Glory. Many thanks!

premios_dardo1

Apparently ““Premio Dardos” means “prize darts” in Italian, and the award is given in recognition of cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values transmitted in the form of creative and original writing.”

I am particularly honoured and grateful to have received the award from Libby as Blessings and Glory was one of the first blogs I started following when I started Welcome To Illinois and I really respect the way she is using her blog to provide a service for parents who are new to the world of Down’s syndrome (which was one of the main reasons I started writing this thing, even if it doesn’t come across that way). Also I think G looks quite a bit like Charlie (and not in a DS type way) while Henry is one of my favourite people I have discovered since I started the blog. For example:

“Henry we don’t swear inside this house!”

pause

“Can, I swear outside?”

The other reason I am glad I got this award from Libby is that she removed the requirement to answer 17 questions about myself before passing it on. Instead I just have to

  1. Accept the award by posting it on your blog along with the name of the person that has granted the award and a link to his/her blog.
  2. Pass the award along to blogs you find worthy of this acknowledgment.

That being the case I hereby award the Premios Dardos blog award to:

I only started following Girl in a Party Hat recently and was sad to discover that it is only designed to last a year and should end in May. I hope Amy changes her mind as I love the way she tackles challenging subjects in an entertaining way:
Does Dopey have Down syndrome?
Can a Kid with Down syndrome Look Like Kate Hudson?
Mamas, Don’t Let Your Babies with Down syndrome Grow Up to be Prom Queen (or King)
And she’s always insightful – nearly as insightful as her daughters.

I’ve always had a soft spot for Vince since I realised he was born on the same day as J. That and the fact that he is completely adorable. I always look out for updates from Christina as she is refreshingly honest and direct about Down’s syndrome and the challenges it poses, as well as the joy she gets from her family. She is also no less insightful and always has good advice. To wit:

“If you google something like: my friend had a baby with DS, help they got a DS baby, my friend is so sad she had a baby with DS, etc this is my tip: Pick up Road Map to Holland by Jennifer Graf Groneberg and read it! Don’t give it to your friend yet, YOU read it, and then you call her up [after of course congratulating them to the baby in the first place].”

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. starrlife said, on March 10, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Congratulations- well deserved!

  2. rickismom said, on March 11, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Yes Doopey is developmentally disabled, and treaded atrotiously. I posted about this August 13th last year:

    PS. On the topic of Snow White: Greg Palmer, in his book Adventures in the Mainstream makes a very interesting evaluation of Snow White and the seven dwarves. (I know that sounds weird, but see below, and you’ll se that it is not so strange.) His book is published by Woodbine House, but is already out of print, unfortunately. This book is very worth getting on an inter-library loan, even if you don’t have a child with special needs. It is a very fascinating look at two years in the life of his son, who has Down syndrome. I promise you, it’s interesting.
    On Mr. Palmer’s web site ( http://www.gregpalmer.com/ ) I found that he has noted this about the alternate version (of Snow White) that he has authored:

    “SNOW WHITE was written in response to extreme dissatisfaction with the Disney version, which reinforces the idea with young people that what you look like is very important – it is, after all, why the Dwarfs save Snow White, why they don’t bury her, why she eventually defeats the Queen; because she is indeed the fairest in the land. And then, after the Dwarfs have taken such care of her, she rides off with the first handsome prince who comes along, even though she has never exchanged a single spoken word with him. There is also the Dopey problem; the Disney character being an obvious developmentally disabled adult who is continually abused physically and verbally by his “loving” brothers. My Snow White makes an intelligent decision about who she loves, and why (it’s the Grumpy equivalent) and the youngest Dwarf is named Peg. She is a developmentally disabled adult as well, but is treated by her siblings with love and respect.”

  3. welcometoillinois said, on March 11, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Sounds interesting. I’ll check out the book.

  4. Amy Silverman said, on March 12, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    wow, i’m blushing! thank you!

    and i feel badly that i didn’t know ricki’s mom had already blogged about dopey — i do have a reference to another blog post someone else did on the subject. i ordered greg palmer’s book (you can get it used on amazon.com for $5 plus shipping) and will be eager to see what he has to say. thank you for your wonderful work, “welcome to illinois” and i’ve been meaning to tell you how much i like your blog’s name.


Leave a Reply

