Welcome to Illinois

Mother Superior jumped the gun

Posted in Attitudes to disability, Language by Matt at WelcometoIllinois on February 19, 2010

Sarah Palin, the self-appointed Mother Superior of Down’s syndrome, has been at it again, this time describing an episode of Family Guy featuring a character with Down’s syndrome that made reference to being her daughter as “another kick in the gut”.

I haven’t seen the Family Guy episode, it has not aired in the UK yet as far as I’m aware, but I have watched the clips on YouTube and I just don’t get what Palin is upset about.

So a character with Down’s syndrome states that her mother is the former governor of Alaska – big deal. How is that insulting to people with Down’s syndrome, or Trig or Sarah Palin? Am I missing something here? Seriously, I fail to see how this is mocking Trig Palin or in any way damaging to people with special needs, and I’ve just watched Palin trying to explain it herself

Even the Down syndrome girl song is extremely tame by Family Guy standards, and as Logan at Disposable writes, from what I have seen the show pretty much normalised Down’s syndrome.

Palin’s criticism appears to suggest that featuring a character with Down’s syndrome on this sort of show is, by definition, offensive (unless it is satire of course), while some of the reports supporting Palin’s view also appear to have jumped to conclusions.

“Comedic mimicry of retarded people is obnoxious,” states the Gawker. Which is true except, there’s that R word again, and besides – where was the mimicry?

The character in question was played by Andrea Fay Friedman – an actress with Down’s syndrome, who had this to say: “I thought the line was very funny. I think the word is ‘sarcasm.'”

Friedman also said this:

“In my family we think laughing is good. My parents raised me to have a sense of humor and to live a normal life. My mother did not carry me around under her arm like a loaf of French bread the way former Gov. Palin carries her son Trig around, looking for sympathy and votes.”

Arf! Now that is a kick in the gut.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. TUC said, on February 20, 2010 at 4:25 am

    Yeah, that is why SP needs us as advisors… she can’t figure out on her own when it is appropriate to get pissed and when she should just freaking laugh.

  2. Dan said, on February 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Family Guy gets the last laugh. They took a shot at Palin because they knew she couldn’t resist going public with her reaction. But what was so diabolical was that the show wasn’t really making fun of people who have Ds. Amazing, but true – the show that goes out of its way to offend everyone showed amazing restraint in this episode. And that was obviously intentional (I can’t imagine the horrific jokes that hit the cutting-room floor).

    I have to believe that this whole thing was carefully orchestrated to bait Palin, to get that gut reaction, so that they could grab some headlines and make Palin look like a fool in the process. It was cunning, and pretty awesome.


Leave a comment